A Letter From Our Director

Thank you for those of you who tuned in, bid, donated, and cheered us on. Our quirky, bumbling, and heartfelt annual fundraiser was a resounding success and it is because of you! Tune in to laugh with us, and perhaps at us, in what we think is the best virtual fundraiser ever. If you didn't get a chance to donate, now is a great time!

Lori Thoemmes

Lori Thoemmes

Our Wonderful Hosts 

Paul Henderson | Co-host

By day, Paul Henderson is a nationally recognized expert in criminal justice reform, a veteran prosecutor and champion for social justice. The former Chief of Administration and prosecutor for Kamala Harris and Deputy Chief of Staff for Mayor Ed Lee, Henderson currently serves as Executive Director of the San Francisco Department of Police Accountability. He appears regularly as a political and legal analyst on MSNBC, CNN, PBS, and more. What you may not know about Paul David Henderson are the talents he brings to the silver--and now Zoom--screen to help nonprofits exceed fundraising expectations as you will witness on Saturday night. If there were an award for Best Actor and Best Dressed on the Philanthropic stage, he would win.

Sister Roma | Co-host

Sister Roma, our hostess with the mostess and “The Most Photographed Nun in the World,” is one of the most recognized members of San Francisco’s Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence. For more than three decades Roma has been on the frontlines in the war against HIV/AIDS, a champion for human rights, and one of the city’s most colorful personalities. With too many awards to mention, from being voted Pride Community Grand Marshal to the recent SFAF Cleve Jones Leadership award, she’s simply the best. We are honored she is ours, and yours, this Saturday at Art for AIDS 2020.


Lively Discussions With the Artists

Throughout the week of October 12 we will be hosting Art Talks; interviews with artists featured in our Silent Auction discussing their inspirations, creative process, and how they’ve adapted to living in the COVID-19 pandemic. In order to attend, please register for the auction at Greater Giving. Once registered, you will receive the Zoom webinar link on the day of the each event. Please note that each event will have a unique link.



Drawings & Prints
October 12, 2020 6:00pm

Featuring Jury Members - Nico VanDongen and Robert Melton

Distinguished Artists - Carrie Ann Plank, Simona Bunardzhieva, Michelle Mongan and David Avery


October 13, 2020 6:00pm

Featuring Jury Members - Susan Breall and DeWitt Cheng

Distinguished Artists - Charles Anselmo, Greta & Manu Schnetzler, Sandra Chen Weinstein and Andrea Padilla


Mixed Media & Sculpture
October 14, 2020 6:00pm

Featuring Jury Members - Tom O'Connor and Renee DeCossio

Distinguished Artists - Sasinun Kladpetch, Michael Beckler, Fernando Reyes, Jenny Balisle and Sean O'Donnell


October 15, 2020 6:00pm

Featuring Jury Members - Cynthia Farner and James Bacchi

Distinguished Artists - Maxine Solomon, Anna Sidana, Adam Forfang , Holly Wong and Mark Powers

Thank You To Our Generous Sponsors

$10,000 Freddie Mercury


Kilpatrick, Townsend & Stockton, LLP

$5,000 Elizabeth Glaser


Cynthia Farner

James Dilley & Jorge O. Morales

Kate Shumate

UCSF/ZSFG Department of Psychiatry

West Builders

$2,500 Sylvester

Julie Armistead & Fred McNear

Presidio Bay Ventures

Berenice Mettler

Susan Breall

Anthony & George Harrison, MD

Conco Commercial Concrete Contractors

UCSF/ZASF Office of the Dean

$1,500 Keith Haring

Brad Hare & Gary Larioza

Dennis Gilbert, PhD & Stephan Ouellette, LCSW

James Bacchi & William Scott Balentine

Dena L. Narbaitz

Sophia Toh

James Wright

Koff and Associates

$1,000 Marlon Riggs

Peter Farmer Dentistry

Robert Marks & Saul Rosenfield

Studio KDA

$500 Robert Mapplethorpe

Bard Adler & Michelle Cataldo

Judith Ahrens

Henry Bortman & Dwayne Schanz

Mahsa Hakimi

Dee Hampton

Christian Dowell

Joseph Brennan

Michelanne Baker

DK Haas & Trish Tunney

Yan Liu

Uzziel Prado

Laura Thomas

Martha Shumway

Matthew & Amy State

Lori Thoemmes & Susan Weigle

Joel Villalon & Joshua Schwartz

Scott Williams & Scott Walton


Thank You To Our Volunteers

Art for AIDS 2020 Host Committee

James Bacchi

Susan Breall

Tracey Broadman

Christian Dowell

Yolanda Ferraloro

Dena Narbaitz

Stephan Ouellette

Kate Shumate

Denise Tarantino

Sophia Toh

James Wright


Dee Hampton

Rachel Liebman

Francisco Nanclares

Perry Rhodes III

Denise Tarantino

Trish Tunney


Frame SF

Paul Mahder Gallery

Underglass Custom Framing

Art for AIDS 2020 Jury

Charles Anselmo

James Bacchi

Susan Breall

DeWitt Cheng – Jury Chair

Renée de Cossio

Cindy Farner

Wade Hampton

Rachel Herbert

Catherine Mackey

Robert Melton

Matthew McKinley

Tom O'Connor

Carrie Ann Plank

Lisa Roth

Andrea Schwartz

Denise Tarantino

Nico van Dongen

Art Delivery and Shipping

RL Figures Art Services

PO Plus

Alliance Health Project Community Advisory Board

Susan Breall – Vice Chair

Philip De Carlo – Secretary

Mahsa Hakimi

Brad Hare

Reginald Hillmon

Enchi Liu

Bérénice Mettler

Ken Pearce

Uzziel Prado

Gabriel Sarah

Kate Shumate – Chair

Sophia Toh


Onyx and Ash

White Space Design

Sandrine Albouy Design